wpe7.jpg (6886 bytes) 2011  International & Single Seater News

News of young WRDA members who are competing in the International & Single Seater arena.

wpe8.jpg (10696 bytes)

The 2011 WRDA Welsh Young Driver of the Year - Seb Morris

Seb Morris award 2.jpg (63753 bytes)(photo Steve Williams)

Seb Morris picked up the 2011 WRDA Welsh Young Driver of the Year award at the recent Awards Night in Cowbridge from Rhodri Jenkins, 2003 & 2004 Welsh Champion & co-Chairman of the WRDA.

In 2010 & 2011 at the very young age of 15, WRDA member, Seb Morris from Wrexham, has totally dominated The Ginetta Junior Championship. Having won 2 championships in 12 months, starting with The 2010 Ginetta Junior Winter Championship & then went on to totally dominate The 2011 Ginetta Junior Championship which he won by taking victory in 11 of the 20 races contested and never finished outside the top six all year.
He was over 100 points in front of the 2nd place driver. In short, it’s been a truly awe-inspiring campaign in a very competive class, and was broadcast on ITV4 as part of the BTTC broadcasts.

Celebrating yet another richly deserved accolade after being named the 2011 WRDA Welsh Young Driver of the Year during a special ceremony on Saturday, 19th November. his year has been capped-off perfectly with the prestigious WRDA award.

Immensely proud of his Welsh heritage, the 15-year-old GCSE pupil – said “It’s a real honour to be named the Welsh Young Driver of the Year and I’d like to say a big thank you to the Welsh Racing Drivers Association for their support. We had a fantastic season in Ginetta this year, it couldn’t have gone any better, and to now be awarded this accolade really is the icing on the cake.”

Reflecting on the WRDA’s decision to name Seb the Welsh Young Driver of the Year, club Chairman  Rhodri Jenkins who presented the award commented: “We are pleased to honour Seb in this way. He clearly is a driver with a lot of potential and we hope he will continue to be successful.”

For 2012 he is currently testing and is likely to move into Formula Renault. (If Morris decides to go into Formula Renault he will be in good company as drivers from North Wales have an excellent record in recent years. Richard Singleton from Llanfairfechan starting the ball rolling by winning the Barc Renault Championship in 2006 and Hywel Lloyd from Corwen, backed that up by winning two Formula Renault Championships in 12 months in 2007.)

Report Rob Allender & Marion Dix

Previous Winners of the WRDA Welsh Young Driver of the Year Award

2007 Hywel Lloyd

2008 Rhys Lloyd + Highly Commended Andy Meyrick

2009 Nick Jones

2010 not awarded

2011 Seb Morris +  Highly Commended Jake Rattenbury