2015 International & Single Seater News

News of WRDA members who are competing in the International & Single Seater arena.


To join our Sponsors & advertisers-contact wrda@ntlworld.com


Julian Westwood given special award for his International efforts Report by Rob Allender



(left)WRDA President Robert Allender hands the award to Jules and (right) Jules at speed  in the Loggie Audi R8 LMS Ultra


Julian (Jules) Westwood received a special award from the WRDA after winning the Class AM Drivers title in the 2015 International Blancpain Watches Endurance Series, by a single point, after a hard fought final race in Germany! Jules, who is 48, has a racing career that stretches all the way from the late 1980s, winning the Raymond Mays Trophy for the Drive of the Year at Donington in 1991, and 1997 Vauxhall Vectra Championship. He had many other successes, before retiring 10 years ago, to become a Race Engineer and an integral part of the Leicester based Team Parker Racing team! Returning to racing to partner the car’s owner and team-mate Ian Loggie in an Audi R8 LMS Ultra, Paul Parker for the team, affirmed ‘It was nice to see Jules get back behind the steering wheel and help bring Team Parker Racing success in this prestigious series!’ Blancpain make exclusive Swiss watches & clocks, and the racing series visited all parts of Europe, with races distances stretching from 3hrs to 24 hours! Speaking about the final race in Germany Jules confirmed ‘We worked hard but on the closing laps, as I was being lapped by the race leader, the 2nd car behind the leader was in our class, and he nipped by! Still we got the points we needed, but it was a bit tighter than we anticipated!  I am pleased to accept this award from the Welsh Racing Drivers Association as it’s from fellow racers’


WRDA President Robert Allender confirmed ‘We are pleased to give this award to Julian for winning this prestigious International championship, and it proves that he still has the talent we saw when he first started racing! We hope that this is an inspisration to the current crop of young drivers like Seb Morris, Matt Parry & Jan Mardenborough, that a racing career can strech a lifetime!'