Welsh Champ logo.jpg

 Welsh Sports & Saloon Car Champions Gallery


2009/10/11 As this is period is such recent times - race reports - results & points are still on line via the index page


In short, it was a period where the Welsh Championship continued with a 2 day 3 race format, as the global credit crunch began to bite harder! Mike Rhodrian came over from Ireland in 2009.


Although there were some good grids and races, by the end of 2011 grids had dropped to only 3 cars!


The Championship was obviously in crisis and many thought the Championship may have come to an end.

However cometh the hour, cometh the men, and after a series of crucial meetings, which showed that there where drivers & teams committed to keeping the Championship alive, Rhodri Jenkins and Alan Jenkins formulated new plans to revive the series!

  Basically the championship would be run on one day, with a one practice & 2 races format, with some changes to the class structure. The championship would 'buy' race time, and if at least 12 drivers entered, the race would go on. If more than 12 entered then a rebate system would mean a refund would be generated, reducing costs. This provided the sparks needed to revitalize the series and the 2012 series was another classic with uniquely joint Champions! Race reports & points are still on line via the index page


In the meantime young drivers continue to represent the WRDA in International & Single Seater racing

  . 2009 Andy Meyrick – multiple race winner in British F3 National Class + 4th place Overall in Le Mans 24hr race.

  . 2011 Seb Morris - Youngest winner of a major Championship - Ginetta Juniors & 2010 Ginetta Winter Series

  . 2013 Matt Parry – Winner Formula Renault North European Cup


WRDA Welsh Young  Drivers of the Year Roll of Honour!