2012  International & Single Seater News

News of WRDA members who are competing in the International & Single Seater arena.

Morris set for Winter Series title show-down at Rockingham

Morris (car 31) dices for the lead last time out at a wet Brands Hatch
The final two rounds of the 2012 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Winter Series with Michelin take place at Rockingham on Saturday, 10th November, and the title battle simply couldn’t be closer – only three points split the top four drivers in the championship. 20 cars are confirmed for rounds three and four of the hugely competitive Winter Series, with WRDA member Seb Morris only 2 points behind the leader Matt Mason from Nottingham. Morris & Mason took a win each and a 4th place in the race they didn't win, but Mason took the extra point for the fastest lap in both races on the Brands Hatch Grand Prix Circuit just over a fortnight ago to lead the points standings. Sebs performance in Sundays wet race at Brands Hatch was sensational, with him showing natural skill and speed in very challenging conditions, with perhaps only over exuberance and relative lack of experience holding him down to 4th, after understeering off whilst challenging for the lead! Morris the current WRDA Welsh Young Driver of the Year, drives for Fortec Motorsports, and he scored an emphatic double win at Rockingham earlier in the year. No doubt a  repeat result would be most welcome.
Londoner Jack Aitken and Chris Middlehurst from St. Helens are equal third in the Winter Series table, just one point behind Morris, amd 3 behind Mason
Along with headline sponsor Protyre, Formula Renault BARC is additionally supported by Michelin, The Lubricant Consultancy, Petronas Syntium and NGK Spark Plugs.
Provisional 2012 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Winter Series with Michelin Standings (After Rds1&2):
1st Matt Mason, 56pts; 2nd Seb Morris, 54pts; =3rd Jack Aitken & Chris Middlehurst, 53pts.

Image courtesy of Jakob Ebrey Photography
Official website www.renaultsport.co.uk/championships/formularenaultbarc/
Follow us on Facebook www.facebook.com/pages/Formula-Renault-BARC/173881585980232
Full results and timings available at www.tsl-timing.com
Championship Media Officer:
Marc Orme
Tel: +44 (0)7920 886985