WRDA Archive


 Welsh Sports & Saloon Car Champions Gallery


The Early Years


Robert Allender founder of the Welsh Racing Drivers Association describes the years before the founding of the WRDA in 1981. Early History

‘During the early 1970s’ I first became involved in club motorsport as a marshal with the BARC at tracks like Thruxton, and with local branch BARC South Wales. I meet many Welsh drivers and as there seemed to be little coverage of their efforts in the local press or radio I began to provide articles to the local media. This helped to raise the profile of Welsh racing and when the time came, it helped me gather support to start the Welsh Racing Drivers Association, remember this was the time before there was widespread use of the internet and web pages. ’

Here is a series of press cuttings starting with

Barry Reece Multiple Wendy Wools BARC Special Saloon Car Champion who was the first WRDA real Chairman.

Phil Kempe 1981 Formula Ford Star of Tomorrow Champion - first National F Ford championship win for a Welsh driver

Tim Davies, 1983 Racing Displays British Formula Ford 2000 Champion

Julian Westwood Still racing

Castle Combe Welsh Racers

Other Drivers Karl Jones,  Viv 'Buster' Wallace, Martin Williams & Gareth Rees